102915-National-HBCU-Graduates-More-Likely-toHave-Greater-Well-Being-in-Life.jpg

Tell Them We Are Rising FR

TELL THEM WE ARE RISING: The Story of Historically Black Colleges and Universities

CINÉ-CAUSERIE

Fondu au Noir présente une ciné-discussion autour des célèbres universités noires des Etats Unis. La projection du film sera suivie d’une discussion avec le réalisateur Stanley Nelson via Skype.

 

Tell Them We Are Rising: The Story of Black Colleges and Universities

Sélection officielle :

  • Festival du Film de sundance 2017
  • Festival du Film Black de Toronto 2017

Stanley Nelson - USA – 80min’ – Version orignale Anglaise sans sous- titres

Un refuge pour les intellectuels, artistes et révolutionnaires noirs – un chemin vers le rêve américain - Les collèges et universités noirs ont éduqué les pionniers des mouvements de liberté et élevé des leaders dans tous les domaines. Ils sont noirs et fiers depuis 150 ans et pour la première fois, leur histoire est racontée.

Tell Them We Are Rising est un film documentaire et une plate-forme interactive sans précédent qui retrace l'histoire mouvementée et complexe des célèbres universités noires des Etats Unis, HBCUs (Historically Black Colleges and Universities), depuis 150 ans. Le documentaire utilise des images d’archives pour raconter l’histoire intime de ces Américains qui refusaient d’être mis à l’écart de l’éducation supérieur, démontrant comment les HBCUs ont influencé des générations d’Américains et façonné le paysage des Etats-Unis.

« Pour raconter cette histoire importante et complexe, il est essentiel que notre documentaire mette en valeur les histoires, les lettres, les journaux, les photographies et même les films personnels des personnes qui ont vécu l'expérience des HBCUs » - Stanley Nelson


Samedi 25 février 2017 – 19h  
Université Concordia Théatre H110
1455 Boul. de Maisonneuve O, Montréal (QC), H3G 1M8
15$ à l’avance (20$ à la porte)


Co-présenté par

MOVIE-TALK

A movie-discussion about the black colleges and universities presented by Fade to Black. The screening will be followed by a discussion with the film director Stanley Nelson via Skype.

 

Tell Them We Are Rising: The Story of Black Colleges and Universities

Official Selection:

  • 2017 Sundance Film Festival
  • 2017 Toronto Black Film Festival

Stanley Nelson – USA - 80’ – English with no Subtitles

A haven for Black intellectuals, artists and revolutionaries—and path of promise toward the American dream—Black colleges and universities have educated the architects of freedom movements and cultivated leaders in every field. They have been unapologetically Black for 150 years. For the first time ever, their story is told.

Tell Them We Are Rising is an unprecedented documentary film and interactive platform that captures the vibrant, moving and complex 150-year history of HBCUs. The documentary will use original material and accounts to tell an intimate story of Americans who would not be denied a higher education, demonstrating how HBCUs have influenced generations of Americans and shaped the landscape of the USA.

“To tell this important and complex story, it is essential that our documentary highlights personal accounts, letters, diaries, photographs, and even home movies of the people who have lived the HBCU experience” - Stanley Nelson


Saturday, February 25, 2017 – 7PM
Concordia University Theatre H110
1455 de Maisonneuve Blvd W, Montreal (QC), H3G 1M8
$15 in advance ($20 at the door)


Co-presented by